Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-28-2009
Advanced beginner

emcentar is on a distinguished road
Opinions on Sailing Schools in DC/Annapolis area?

I'm a complete sailing newbie. But I've been on a friend's boat in the Chesapeake a few times and fell in love. I've been researching schools in the area and was hoping to ask more experienced sailors what their experiences and opinions are regarding these programs.

Right now I'm considering the Mariner Sailing School (in Virginia), J World Annapolis, the Chesapeake Sailing School, and BaySail. Any experience with these schools? Any opinions? Any other recommendations?

Also, for someone who doesn't really know anything - or even how much I will like sailing, does it make sense to start with a shorter (and less expensive) course? Or will I be so little confident after two days on the water that the money will be largely wasted?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-29-2009
AEOLUS II

WouldaShoulda is on a distinguished road
I had good experiences with both the Chesapeake Sailing School at Port Annapolis Marina learning on a 22ft Tanzer keel boat and Mariner Sailing School on the Potomac River at Belle Haven marina on Flying Scots.

Both these schools have a laid back yet thorough approach for teaching new sailors the basics.

A good link on the topic...

Sugesstions on best place to learn on the Chesapeake

BTW~I took the long weekend course from Chesapeake Sailing School and thought it was great.

Both have rental programs for grads so one doesn't have to go full bore into ownership to enjoy.

We did that for about two seasons before settling on the boat we bought.
Old 04-29-2009

davesailski is on a distinguished road