Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2009

mwollenweber is on a distinguished road
Middle River to Baltimore

I'm new to sailing. I've taken a few lessons but am still a novice. I recently bought a 22' Catalina in Middle River, but I need to get it to a slip in Baltimore. I'm nervous about sailing that far in the near future, but the boat needs to be moved.

I could get a slip in Middle River, but that's not really where I want to stay. Any one have any thoughts on making that trip?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-23-2009
Sea Dweeb

RanAweigh is on a distinguished road
You said you are new to sailing so I can understand your reluctance to make the voyage. From Middle River to the Inner Harbor is roughly 20 nautical miles if you go to the outside of Miller Island. So it could be a long day trip. If you are planning to get a slip in Baltimore I would suggest asking around the marina. Perhaps there is someone with local knowledge that could make the voyage with you. Or the other choice is to leave the boat in Middle River and drive back and forth to your boat until your do feel comfortable.
Old 06-23-2009
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Do you have a reliable outboard? If so...just pick a nice calm day and do it. This is a no problem trip and you can use chart 12273 ....
Chart 12273...

...to cut behind Miller Island in the marked channel and then round up into the Patapsco River and follow along the edge of the shipping channel into Baltimore. Should take around 6 hours under power on a calm day. Rig your mainsail to help stabilize the boat. No need to worry about sailing it...you can practice when you have the boat "home".