Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2009

colb218 is on a distinguished road
Motoring in Reverse

Sorry if this has already been covered, I did a little bit of searching and didn't really find anything that answered my question.

I have been sailing for a few years now, but it has always been as crew or on a Laser/Hobie Bravo. Well now I have a San Juan 24 with a 7.5 outboard on it. My first time out of the marina was a disaster! Long story short I tried to back out of the slip but the motor died, in trying to get it re-started I knocked the tiller the wrong direction and we wound backwards and pushed up against the boats on the other dock. Luckily I had a crew to keep me from making contact with any boats and a guy from my dock was able to throw me a line to get pulled back in.

Ever since then I have been walking my boat out, slowly swinging the stern around, pulling the bow clear of my slip, pushing the bow off as I get in and taking off. It's simple and stress free, but I kind of feel like it is cheating.

I guess my quetion is this: if I want to get comfortable in reverse, where should I practice? I have thrown the engine in reverse on Puget Sound, but that doesn't really do much for me since I don't have any landmarks/obstacles to navigate around. I also don't really want to practice in my slip area since I am not comfortable. Also, since it is an outboard should I steer with the outboard rather than the tiller? I use the tiller when moving forward, but worry that it won't be as responsive in reverse...

Sorry for the long drawn out question, but I really feel like I need to get comfortable with reverse for days when the wind/current make leaving and returning to the dock less than easy.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-09-2009

nk235 is on a distinguished road