Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2009

duckduckgoose is on a distinguished road
Relaxed on the water games for special needs kids 9-17

So I work as a sailing instructor at a camp where the kids can tend to need a lot of assistance. Most of them are on the autism spectrum, but not severely so. Sailing is combined with canoeing as a period. About once a week it can work out that I'm the only instructor around for boating (well, I'm the only sailing instructor anyway ) and there aren't enough boats to bring everyone sailing, or the group of kids wouldn't be competant/confident enough to go out without an instructor in every boat.

We had 2 variations on essentially the one game to do when I was on my own or when the group wouldn't be up to a proper canoeing/sailing lesson (some have coordination problems and a good few have communication problems). We played "Sink the Navy" in canoes (each team has a bucket and tries to fill up the other team's boat without theirs getting filled up with water) and then in paddle boats we played a similar game except that sometimes I'd yell a command for the people in the back to switch with the people in the front or to switch boats (there were 2 paddle boats). Essentially a big water fight on the water.

Can anyone think of some other EASY to play in canoes or paddleboats games for up to 8 kids that are non-competitive and don't require a great deal of finesse? I'd really appreciate it, thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-28-2009
Last Man Standing

smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough
Hey ddg! Howsit? Good to see you around again.

How about this...