Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2010

dboy4ever is on a distinguished road
Sailing schools in San Francisco South Bay Area

I'm a newbie trying to find a beginner sailing class.

So far I found:

Shoreline Aquatic Center, in Shoreline Park, Mountain View:
Cost of a 2-weekend class (Level I + II): $400
US Sailing or ASA certification upon completion
Adult & Teen Classes: Sailing

Spinnaker Sailing of Redwood City:
Cost of a 2-weekend class (Basic Keelboat): $695
ASA certification upon completion
Spinnaker Sailing Basic Level Sailing Lessons

Does anyone know the pros and cons of each place?

Any information is appreciated

Last edited by dboy4ever; 01-28-2010 at 02:19 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-28-2010

dboy4ever is on a distinguished road
Looks like I can't post any link that says "spinnaker"... it'll automatically get changed to a link that takes you to a sponsor. Oh well. You guys can google that school
Old 01-28-2010

huckieca is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dboy4ever View Post
I'm a newbie trying to find a beginner sailing class.

Any information is appreciated
If you are willing to go a little further north, Modern Sailing Academy in Sausalito was voted as the ASA School of the Year in 2009. I've taken the first three courses there, Basic Keelboat, Basic Coastal Cruising, and Bareboat Charter, and I only have great things to say about the school.