Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2010

aqwert5 is on a distinguished road
Do I tip the instructor?

Went for my first 2 days (out of 3) of Basic Keelboat instruction (ASA) last weekend, and with the class being over next weekend I want to find out if it is customary to tip the instructor at the end of the class. What's the common wisdom?

If I tip, how much?

I think the 3 of us did very good, having gone through and learned the material for 3 days in 2 days. I believe the instructor was pretty good (but don't have a reference point) with clear and concise explanations.

Thanks,
Dave
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-19-2010

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Dave,

I worked as a part-time sailing instructor for a number of years. I received a very fair hourly wage and I never expected anyone to tip at the end of the lessons.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Pacific Seacraft Crealock 31 #62

NEVER CALLS CRUISINGDAD BACK....CAN"T TAKE THE ACCENT
Old 04-19-2010
Last Man Standing

smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqwert5 View Post
Went for my first 2 days (out of 3) of Basic Keelboat instruction (ASA) last weekend, and with the class being over next weekend I want to find out if it is customary to tip the instructor at the end of the class. What's the common wisdom?

If I tip, how much?

I think the 3 of us did very good, having gone through and learned the material for 3 days in 2 days. I believe the instructor was pretty good (but don't have a reference point) with clear and concise explanations.

Thanks,
Dave
Hey aq - first, congrats on getting out there and doing it!