Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2010

Ed031 is on a distinguished road
Engineless?

Hi, I have a (new to me) Columbia 31 with a Atomic 4 that is not running at the moment. I am new to sailing and want to get some time under sail, practice and learn the boat. What difficulties would I have taking her out with auxiliary power? or should I just wait until I get the motor up and running?

Thanks

Ed
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-01-2010

FSMike is on a distinguished road
Ed -
With all due respect, if you don't know what difficulties you might get into I would recommend you get the engine running first, unless you can get somebody quite experienced to come along. Sailing without an engine will, however, make you into an expert boat handler. You just have to avoid running into anything dangerous or expensive.
While I'm here, I am really paranoid about gas inboards. I would rather have an outboard if I couldn't afford a diesel.
Fair winds.
Old 05-01-2010

JimB517 is on a distinguished road
outboard

put a Tohatsu 9.8 XXL shaft 4 stroke on the transom. Sell the A4. Go sailing.
Old 05-01-2010
1975 Newport 28

jaschrumpf is on a distinguished road
Ignore these A4 naysayers. Hie thee over to the Moyer Marine forums, where we talk A4s all day and night long. The A4 is a great little engine that's nearly impossible to kill, and is lots quieter and less stinky than a diesel.

By all means, if you can get hold of an outboard in the interim, put it on your transom and get sailing. But don't abandon the A4 without coming over to talk with us A4 enthusiasts first.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Monrovia, MD
Old 05-02-2010

tager is on a distinguished road