SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Total noob

2K views 2 replies 2 participants last post by  dundee 
#1 · (Edited)
I just purchased a 1981 force 5 sailboat. I am completely new to sailing, and have learned a little bit from online sources such as this and watching you tube videos. I have to say that the first day of sailing was quite successful. With about 6 hours on the water we only flipped the boat 3 times and got bucked off once, in about 15-20mph winds up to 30mph gust in the afternoon.

After a first day I did come away with a couple questions.

As I'm sure most of you know, the force 5 sail is placed on the mast, then the mast is raised on the boat. Whats the best way to park this thing on the beach? I hate to leave the sail luffing in the wind while I eat lunch, but there is really no way to lower or reef the sail. I let the boat sit on the beach with the sail up and it ended up tipping over, though with the sail on the beach it did not catch wind and stayed put, so I left it.

So at force5sailboats.com I see that they have a zipper rig so that you can raise on lower the sail with the mast on the boat. Has anyone used this? I worry that the strain on the zipper with the boat under sail the zipper will end up falling apart.

What about the downhaul portion of the rigging? is this in place on this boat just to keep the sail and the mast in place, or is there a bit of sail adjustment that can be done from here. When and why would you adjust it? Also, every time I would get the rigging trimmed out (down haul/out haul/vang) the ropes slipped out of the clam cleats. A couple times I was able to tie figure 8s to stop the ropes from slipping, though I had a hard time doing that and sailing the boat at my skill level. Is that the only way, or is there a trick to that?