Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2010
Make it Happen

pwillems is on a distinguished road
Question Fast cat hull speed and overpowering

Hi all,

Complete newB here just wondering if someone can clarify a couple things that have been on my mind. I'll not be doing my first sailing course for a couple more weeks, but have been doing heaps of reading on sailing theory as I would like to walk into the course comfortable with the classroom stuff so I can concentrate on the actual fun bit. I guess it's also 'cause I'm a bit of a nerd too .

Jeff_H put it very well in a post I came across explaining how the accumulated forces of a sail can be thought of as having three active components; Drive- which is the component of the force that acts in the forward direction of the boat, Drag which is a component that acts to reduce drive, and Heeling Forces which operate across the boat. He then goes on to say the following: "In an ideal sense the goal in sailing is to maximize drive while keeping the other two components under control".

Overpower a monohull and you'll end up with the rails in the water, simple to understand. But how does this work on a multihull? How does a multihull skipper know when he is getting overpowered as he can't rely on the heeling degree. Is it a bit of a seat of the pants thing that a multihull skipper just has to get a feel for?

Another thing that I'm trying to figure out is how some of the faster cats can travel way above hull speed. I'm talking about 40 footers cruising well above 15 knots in a good blow. Not surfing, just cruising. Are these vessels effectively planing or is there something else at play here?

Cheers
Old 06-23-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Red face