Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2001

keylargo is on a distinguished road
Tacking

I am very new to sailing. I have only sailed Hobie Cats. But I am going to buy a West Wight Potter and my question is this: How does one tack properly? I fear that I could dismast the boat in a hard tack. When turning, does the boom swing hard over? Or is it like the Hobie, a dead calm, then manually throw the boom over? I dont want to hurt the boat or get stranded. Thank you.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-29-2001

Fran49829 is on a distinguished road
Tacking

Keylargo,
Please read and memorize 2 basic "how to sail" books. Your library should have them. You will be able to tack quite easily then. I feel a sailor must know the basics. Reading the books is not enough as you must master them.
Most tacking is done to windward with the boom sheeted in; one goes on a beat; pushes the tiller over to make the boat come through the wind while releasing the jib sheet and then when on the oppossite tack sheet in the jib. So when tacking to windward the boom is already all the way in and it does not need to be released or pulled in more. The jib has to be released and pulled in on the other side however. Tacking into the wind is called "coming about". It would be almost impossible to damage a sailboat coming about even if every thing was done wrong.