Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2010

ShockValue is on a distinguished road
First time out solo and off a mooring...

Boat: C-Lark 14
Me: Total newb (some reading, very little tiller time.)

Finally got my mooring buoy in place. Got the boat tied up last night, and so this morning I thought I'd give my first solo-sail a go.

Things went ok... I kept telling myself to take my time, get things set up properly and not to rush.

Overall it went well, but had a couple of minor issues that I thought I'd solicit some thoughts on.

1: While on the mooring buoy I got things all rigged up. Centerboard down and locked into place. Rudder on. Hoisted the mainsail (I decided not to use the jib today since I was unsure of my solo-ability.)

At this point the boat started running around the mooring anchor. I tried to let my main sheet all the way out so it wouldn't catch any wind, but it seems on a C-Lark the furthest out the main will go is maybe 60 degrees from center. Ok still catching wind, so I thought I would sheet it in really tight. That helped, but I was still certainly rocking around the buoy so to speak...

I was /expecting/ to be hanging straight back off the buoy with my bow into the wind. That didn't seem to happen. Luckily the wind was light, so the jerking and straining was mild.

What did I do wrong here?

2: The wind was light, but I wasn't expecting to have such a hard time figuring out just where it was coming from. I'm sure 99% of this is purely lack of experience on my part. I've read up and (mostly) memorized my "points of sail", but it seemed like 90% of the time out there, I really wasn't quite sure where the wind was coming from, and were my sail should be set.

Any tips here?