Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2010

cspaniel is on a distinguished road
what would you have done?

Hi everyone, not a newbie here, but not an experience sailor at all...have a Cat. 27, std rig. first season with it (had a 22 before).
So today something happened that I cant get a clear idea of what I should or could have done, so, maybe you guys have some suggestions.
My wife and I went out this morning, with winds of about 10kts, and few gust (though not strong by the time we left). Forecast was for that wind to stay the same until late today, so decided not to reef since we were going to be out for a few hours only. On our way out, on a close haul, the wind started to pick up, specially the gusts, getting stronger, and making us heel pretty nicely, the boat was taking it very well and we were controlling it very well too until...one of the gust stay with us for quite a long time, and we were heeling a lot (much more than what we are comfortable with, rail on water etc etc)...so the issue is this....even though I let the main out, I had the traveler all the way out, and even when we let the genny (140) out, we were still heeling, non stop, finally round it up, and off we went in a different tack with the genny reefed...my questions is, why we didn't stop heeling? the main was all the way out, what would you guys have done? (not looking for "reef before you leave, we always do it, seriously).
Thank you!
-Abraham

Last edited by cspaniel; 07-17-2010 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-17-2010
Senior Slacker

SlowButSteady is on a distinguished road
When the wind blows, sailboats heel. You'll get used to it.
Old 07-17-2010
Senior Slacker

When the wind blows, sailboats heel. You'll get used to it.
Old 07-17-2010