Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2010

ThrillerDillerSchwill is on a distinguished road
Smile Is it easy to learn how to sail on your own?

Is it easy to learn how to sail on your own? You know, that's a very interesting question. I am a newbie who is in the process of learning how to sail, and it is taking me a while, and the reason is because I am hardly ever at my boat. The boat was priced low, it came with no trailer, and the marina cost was very low, and so, this is why I have a sailboat an hour and a half away from me. The previous owner of my boat gave me three lessons, but he was not really much of a sailor himself, and the lessons were about two or three weeks apart, and they were very informal lessons and not very comprehensive. The famous writer Jack London said that sailors are born. And after pondering that over for a long while, even when considering my difficulty in learning, I really think that he was full of crap. If you start out at the age of 12 with a dinghy and gradually work yourself up to bigger boats, I would suppose after 20 years of constant sailing, one would probably feel that sailing was something that came natural. I suppose anyone with that kind of experience would feel that way, yet that doesn't take away the fact that Jack London was stupid for writing such a thing. But to answer the question, to just start out on a first sailboat -- a sailboat that is a little more complex than a sailing dinghy --for a grown adult that is way past his or her college years, without the proper instruction or proper knowledge on how all of the parts on your boat functions and how they are rigged and tied off while sailing and while not sailing, learning how to sail is indeed difficult. If you are a middle aged person who is trying to teach yourself sailing and don't have a whole lot of time to spend with your boa