Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2010

jimmyp is on a distinguished road
Couples wanting to learn to cruise

I'm sure this has been asked a thousand times before. Another couple and us are wanting to charter a boat and learn cruising in January at the same time in the Caribean. We, the husbands, want to learn and the wives are wanting the sightseeing and atmosphere. We are trying to find a happy medium where the wives have chances to spend some time on shore while we sail or at least being in different ports where they can shop (draining our wallets) and enjoy the different cultural aspects of cruising. I have had limited sailing experience having completed ASA 101 and 103, but do not care if it is U.S. Sailing or ASA accredited. My goal is to learn and let my wife have the vacation of the lifetime. If you could recommend a school I would be greatly appreciative. We all are in the retail sector so it will be a chance for us all to recharge our batteries.

Thanks in advance,
Jpatter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-26-2010
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
I would recommend that you separate the two functions... getting a charter boat and learning to cruise is pretty much a full-time thing unless you have a friend coming along to act as your captain and do the teaching... Most instructors aren't going to want to deal with the need to have the wives, who are not students, aboard the boat, as it will interfere with their instruction.

Unless you and your wives are all interested in learning to sail/cruise, having the wives along is a bad idea. From what you've posted, your wives are not interested in learning to sail or cruise.