SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Dinghy Classes in New York City Area (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/74212-dinghy-classes-new-york-city-area.html)

motthew 05-07-2011 02:36 AM

Dinghy Classes in New York City Area

Hi everyone. I'm new to sailing, and hoping to get started this spring / summer in the New York Area. I took a single introductory lesson in Seattle on Lake Washington a couple of years ago, and had a blast. I'm leaning toward dinghies rather than keel boats because I really like the idea of being able to take a boat out alone without too much hassle.

Unfortunately, I really am not sure where to start with regards to finding a place to learn and preferably continue to sail in the area. Where are good spots to sail smaller boats? And any suggestions on schools offering dinghy classes?

(I'm also open to hearing about reasons why I should instead go for keel boats instead.)

Thanks!

Matthew

Yorksailor 05-07-2011 08:58 AM

Where To Sail

WanderingStar 05-07-2011 09:52 AM

Hi Matt, welcome. NYC is very large, but if you're nearer the Sound there are sailing schools on both shores. Dinghies are great, thrilling, elemental. They will teach you everything about balance and trim. Mistakes are quickly punished. But don't fear singlehanding a keelboat. They are more forgiving (except with depth). Probably most of us have solo sailed keelboats, one around twenty feet will be thrilling too, not too much to handle.

CalebD 05-07-2011 02:03 PM

One place in NYC to look into is: SailNY - New York City's Community Sailing Association
They sail 27' Solings in the Hudson River. The Soling is not exactly a dinghy but is a sporty racing boat.
This place in Oyster Bay does rent some dinghies: WFC - The WaterFront Center, Oyster Bay, NY - Daily Sailboat & Kayak Rentals