Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2011

Shortnsalty is on a distinguished road
Help in choosing first sailboat

My family has been boating forever just pleasure and fishing however. The wife and I are really anxious to get into sailing. The kids are older now although were not close to retirement and were looking for weekend getaways.
Being total noobs to the world of sailing we do not know where to start. We are trying to narrow things down to (type) before we head out to start looking as we do not have much time to waste traveling around on days off to look at boats.
We are a little confused about what we might need.
I don't really wanna buy a boat to learn on that we cant grow with to end up with a boat we can sail but does not fit our needs and get stuck with trying to sell in 6 months to a year.
Were looking for a simple sailer that must at least have one bed and a tiny galley and if possible more than enough room if we do intend to bring family members out for a day sail. Also something big enough that after a year of learning can sail down to the keys from palm beach and spend nights on.
The prices vary way to much on the same kind of boats from what we see in adds so we were also wondering what is the best way to buy. We see so many "broker sites" selling 2 30 footers lets say, of the same brand a year different but one is 25,000 the other is 145,000. There seems to be too much of a price change to be valid through being a year newer with more upgrades.
Very confused.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-07-2011
Battered and Bruised

Silvio is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shortnsalty View Post
...We are trying to narrow things down to (type) before we head out to start looking as we do not have much time to waste traveling around on days off to look at boats...