Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011

joelsanda is on a distinguished road
How is capsize risk best understood?

I'm in my second year of sailing, using the J22s at my local sailing club/school, where I took Basic Keelboat and Coastal Cruising courses last year. What I'd like to know is how to best understand the risk of a capsize?

I understand boat particulars weigh on this (hull type, keel type, onboard weight, etc), but I'm trying to understand how I can heel the J22 at 35/40 degrees and the darn thing just keeps going without capsizing. I saw a small catamaran capsize on the lake, and one day after I rushed back to the marina as a storm approached a 22-footer capsized during a race.

With a sailboat not overloaded is there a way to calculate the capsize risk? Do sailboats generally have a 'rating' or degree of heel that could lead to a capsize? During my practicals we had some stiff winds and I could feel a difference when we all sat on the windward side - I don't know if I could say the boat heeled less but it seemed to respond to tiller controls better.

Anyway ... having a hell of a time learning to sail and finally getting around to realizing a childhood dream. I'm sailing in Denver, on a small lake, where the average tack might last five minutes.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-07-2011
Banned

WDS123 is on a distinguished road
Welcome !

Righting Moment

Righting moment is the torque trying to return a boat into equilibrium, upright, when the boat is heeled.

This may be the most important single factor affecting the boat stability.

The magnitude of the torque can be calculated by multiplying the horizontal distance between the center of gravity of the boat and center of buoyancy of the underwater part of the boat by the boat displacement.