Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2011

joelsanda is on a distinguished road
Sailing without an Engine

I'm in my second year of sailing J22s on a small lake here in Denver, Colorado. I'm studying to write my ASA 101/2 exams, had nine lessons on the water and been on the water with friends/family about 10 additional times. Once, during my lessons, I talked the instructor into leaving under sail. On a port beam reach we sailed out after walking the boat around so she was heading out. This was so rare the marina manager and a different instructor approached me after our return to comment on it.

My biggest fear is not being able to stop - either once I'm into the slip or if someone maneuvers in front of me. With the small outboard these boats have I can at least reverse.

The marina is small and I have three slips I can park in: one is nearly straight in from the entrance and the other two require 90 degreee turns at the last minute - whichever slip I left. The marina rents small sailboats, personal watercraft, canoes and these surf board things you stand on and paddle. So some days there are quite a few people coming in/out and it seems most have no concept of clearing the entrance. But that's not always the case and the entrance has room right/left to come about for anoher approach through the buoys.

I have been practicing a stop in the lake by approaching a buoy and trying to stop dead on or abeam - but that's plenty different from a tight marina with people in canoes or paddleboats.*
  1. Am I just courting disaster wanting to launch/land under sail only?
  2. I won't do this without someone on the anchor and someone with a pole to push me off an object
  3. Is this a silly thing to challenge myself with?
  4. The boats have an anchor, paddle and usually a pole for a spinnaker - so ample tools to push off other something.