Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2012
boatless

RyanR620 is on a distinguished road
Will learning to sail on a Cat ruin me forever?

I'm completely new to the sailing game, and I'm looking for a fun "play around the lake" boat. It's a pretty decent size lake, so something like a sunfish would be a little small...might get ran over by Bajas shooting down the lake at 75mph.

I want something that I can learn on, and will be fun for myself and my wife (who wants to sail too).

The two boats we're looking at are the Hobie 16, and a Laser Bahia. Any opinions on the two?

I like the Hobie, as they look like a ton of fun, and there are thousands of them around...so I'm assuming parts are easy to come by. The only concern is a friend of mine who sails has told me that learning to sail on a Cat will ruin you for life. I'm not totally sure why?

Any opinions on this?

Any other good boats you would recommend would be great, too. Looking for something along these same lines...day sailing, fun, and sporty.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-17-2012

davidpm is on a distinguished road
Re: Will learning to sail on a Cat ruin me forever?

The Hobie 16 is a very fun boat to sail.
You didn't mention your age but you have to be flexible. You sort of squat, scoot around on the trampoline. You will get wet, sometimes very wet. Most folks plan on capsizing when they try to see how fast they can get it to go. No big deal just flip it back up and keep on going.

There is no real comparison to a keel boat like a Catalina 22 for example where if you capsize it is a big problem.

Your friend was probably thinking that after going that fast about 6" above the water a normal keel boat will seem slow and boring.

There is no place to put anything other than a couple little holes in the hulls.