SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   ASA 101 course or challenge? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/85502-asa-101-course-challenge.html)

itsaboat 03-27-2012 01:31 PM

ASA 101 course or challenge?

I have been sailing for a couple of months on our new to us Pearson 27 and am thinking about going ahead and getting ASA 101 Keelboat certified soon. I have read Sailing Made Easy (the ASA-approved training book), as well as several others.

There is one instructor available locally that offers the 2-day course/exam and I am considering that. However, I am going to San Diego on business in May where there is a school that offers an ASA 101 challenge as well, which is a one day paper/water exam. The challenge is much less expensive. I have a life time of learning ahead of me about the nuances of sailing and sail trim, but I don't think I would have that much of a problem passing the 101 (I hope). Any recommendations?

jackdale 03-27-2012 01:37 PM

Re: ASA 101 course or challenge?

Check out the standards on the ASA web site. If you feel confident go for the challenge. You might actually find that being on a boat with raw rookies can be a little frustrating.

misfits 03-27-2012 01:46 PM

I took the course a couple of years ago & thought it was money well spent.

Bob

tomandchris 03-27-2012 04:40 PM

I would challenge and use the $$$$ to take a more advanced class if you want. I was under the impression that you could challenge at any ASA affiliate.

itsaboat 03-27-2012 08:02 PM

Thanks all for the advice.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tomandchris (Post 851306)
I would challenge and use the $$$$ to take a more advanced class if you want. I was under the impression that you could challenge at any ASA affiliate.

I'll ask our local guy if he has ever done a challenge.

sailingfool 03-27-2012 09:17 PM