Why is beam reach (or near to it) the fastest point of sail? - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2012

tarmes is on a distinguished road
Why is beam reach (or near to it) the fastest point of sail?

Hi,

I'm new to sailing and I'm trying to understand a little more about sailing theory.

Does anyone here know of a resource that explains exactly why the fastest point of sail for most boats is the beam reach (or close to it)? When I search on google I can find hundreds of site that state it as a fact, but I haven't found any that explain the reasons, preferably with vector diagrams.

I always find things easier to put into practice once I understand why I'm doing them....

Thanks,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-03-2012

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough
Re: Why is beam reach (or near to it) the fastest point of sail?

Can't draw a diagram here, but I will take a crack.

To start, if you are sailing directly downwind, the faster you go, the lower the apparant wind on your sails. You are out running the wind. So far, so good? The faster you go, the less you have to work with heading downwind.

If you sail upwind, you actually create more wind to work with (increased apparent wind), because you compound the wind as you begin to move into it.