Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2012

troyanthony94 is on a distinguished road
new to sailing buying a 27 Catalina

Well iv been sailing 1 time and tomorrow will make twice! Can i mention I'm also buying a boat on Sunday! A Catalina 27. I've read about sailing for 2 years and I live in the puget sound near point defiance park in Tacoma washington. So why not! I can afford it now and I'm young . 26 anyways! But my girlfriend and I have no sailing experience. We are going to be aggressive without trying to endanger ourselves and others but are eager to learn. The boat and marina seem great as well a the people we have met. I'm very nervous but in a good way. You can only read so right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-18-2012
Battered and Bruised

Silvio is on a distinguished road
Re: new to sailing buying a 27 Catalina

Oh to be young!
Congratulations on the boat. Have fun and be safe, it isn't rocket science but can be challenging, especially in tight quarters.

Used to go to Point Defiance back in the '80's when I was stationed at Ft. Lewis, fun place to be young.
Old 04-18-2012
Last Man Standing

smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough smackdaddy is a jewel in the rough

Congrats on the boat. Just leave yourself lots of room for error (mellow days at first, make sure the motor runs well, make sure the sheets are out of the water when you start the motor, wear your pfds, etc.) and you'll be fine.

I have a C27 myself. Great boats.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/V Dawn Treader - 1989 Hunter Legend 40
Old 04-18-2012
SERIOUS SAILOR

JoeDiver is on a distinguished road