SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Sailing Associations - Ex Hylas (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/88083-sailing-associations-ex-hylas.html)

Night_Sailor 05-29-2012 01:21 AM

Sailing Associations - Ex Hylas

Quote:

Originally Posted by jackdale (Post 866251)
ISPA Yachtmaster Offshore Instructor Evaluator
CYA Advanced Cruising Instructor
IYT Yachtmaster Coastal Instructor

Ok Jack,

I can guess CYA is Candian Yachting Association.

I have been working in the industry for more than 40 years and never heard of this one. ISPA

Here is what I found online.

International Sleep Products Association
International Society of Parametric Analysts
International School Psychology Association.
International Society of Professional Aromatherapists

ITY is a new one for me also.

One of the issues I have is these types of sailing groups try to regulate the industry. What they are mostly about is making money. That is why I dropped my ASA and US Sailing membership. I see no point in paying into an organization that does not support me. I will say I favor the RYA because they actually improve things and do not sit static. The English have done the best job in my opinion, and while other groups stole their ideas, or were given them, these other organizations that I've seen have failed in continuous improvement of their training, with a few exceptions, but have gotten good at bashing each other.