Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2004

mcgreggor is on a distinguished road
looking for help up wind

I AM A 2 YEAR VETERAN OF THE LAKE SAILING
CROWD,AND I PURCHASED A USED 25 FT MCGREGGOR,
THE RUDDER IS ABOUT 16" WIDE 3 FEET DEEP
THE BACK STAY WIRE IS LOOSE ENOUGHT TO HAVE A 2 " BEND IN THE WIRE THE SCHROUDS AR NOT VERY TIGHT AND THE BOOM IS BOLTED TO THE MAST
SO A VANG IS NOT PRESENT.WE HAVE A DOYLE SPINNIKER,A GENNY ,AND A OLD MAIN (BATTENED)
HERES THE DEAL: WE GO SAILING,THE WIND IS
COMING OVER THE BOAT AT ABOUT 45 DEGREES
FROM THE PORT SIDE ,WELL GREAT BOAT MOVES FINE, NOW COME ABOUT AND SHE MOSTLY SLIPS SIDE WAYS,WHY?(JUST MAIN AND JIB)ALSO TRYING TO GO TO WINDWARD IS A JOKE,WHY?
ANY MCGREGGOR 25 OWNERS OUT THERE,WITH HELP.
I HESITATE TO MESS WITH THE RIGGING.THE BACK STAY IS CONNECTED TO A FLAT BAR THAT WOULD BEND IF A TURNBUCKEL WERE ADDED AND TIGHTENED
WOULD ADDING A BIGGER RUDDER HELP?
OH YEA CRANK DOWN KEEL AND YES ITS ALL THE WAY DOWN.SHE REFUSES TO JIB ,YOU HAVE TO COME ABOUT WHEN THE WIND IS ABOVE 12-15 KNOTS
ANY SUGESTIONS
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-22-2004

aflanigan is on a distinguished road
looking for help up wind

It''s an interesting conundrum you have. There''s a good amount of info in your message, but perhaps we need more info to diagnose what''s going on.

How does the rudder feel in a breeze? Do you have a lot of lee helm? Neutral? Weather helm?

You say the centerboard is definitely down. Have you had the boat hauled and verified that the board goes all the way down, to the point that the pennant goes slack? Perhaps the CB is hanging up on something partway down.