SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Western MA sailing spots (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/89559-western-ma-sailing-spots.html)

JeffTT 07-10-2012 08:18 PM

Western MA sailing spots

Anyone here from western Massachusetts? Im new to sailing, bought a 70's lightning(sweeeeet) and need to hear of some sweet spots to daysial nice and casual like at first, but then have enough room to let her rip once I get some experience. I was initially thinking of sailing the CT river near Agawam, but currents considered, im thinking a lake might be better to start with. Especially since I dont have a motor on my boat yet.

JustinB 07-14-2012 11:59 PM

Re: Western MA sailing spots

I'm not 100% sure but I think you can sail in the Quabbin Reservoir as long as you stay a certain distance from the dam/dike. Also a possibility is Lake Champlain up on the VT/NY border. That might be a hike for you though. Oh, and people sail the CT river up in Greenfield upriver of the Turners Falls Dam. They even have some buoy lines so you don't get too close to the dam. Happy sailing!

KarlP 07-19-2012 05:16 PM

There is a ramp in Tolland State Forest on the Otis Reservoir. The lake is about 3 miles end to end.

JeffTT 07-23-2012 12:52 PM

Awesome....thanks!

BillyOC 08-22-2012 05:50 AM

Took our Zuma out on Brimfield Res. Last saturday. Not huge, but no jetskis etc. A buddy at work recomended Littleville Lake up off Rt. 20 past Russell. I looked it up, nice long body of water with a 10 hp limit for the motor folks. May try to head up there this weekend. Deep too.

ambianceack 09-07-2012 12:28 PM

Hi JustinB