SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Reducing leeway (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/89970-reducing-leeway.html)

Mjfossler 07-21-2012 07:58 AM

Reducing leeway

I've been sailing my O'Day 272 for a couple of years, and notice that I have a a lot of leeway when close-hauled. Any advice on how to reduce this. It makes sailing upwind almost pointless...

Tempest 07-21-2012 08:32 AM

Re: Reducing leeway

A few quick possibilities.. Are you heeling too much? It's better to reduce sail and sail flatter and faster. Are you pinching too much, thus losing speed and increasing leeway?

Slayer 07-21-2012 08:38 AM

Maybe when you have too much leeway fall of some to build more speed and get more lift out of you keel, then slowly start pointing again.

RichH 07-21-2012 08:42 AM

The usual prime cause of excess leeway (skidding off to leeward) is due to a too loose forestay - causes the jib/genoa to go draft aft, overdrafted, hooked up leech and the CE operating sometimes many feet to leeward of the boats centerline. Your forestay should be at about 15+% wire tension to match what the sailmaker cut from the luff to match the expected sag in the wire at 15% tension .... any sag greater than what you get with 15% is going to adversely affect 'skid' .... and most helmsmen will erroneously blame 'weather helm'.

Here's how to check and set forestay/backstay tension by visualizing sail SHAPE: http://www.ftp.tognews.com/GoogleFil...f%20Hollow.pdf

Secondly,