Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2012

W3ODF is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to W3ODF
Dinghy Heave to question?

Is it possible to heave to in a 12' centerboard dinghy?

The reason I ask is because its something I have never done and when I have been to sailing schools the instructors seem reluctant to do as well (not sure why?). So I have this practice dinghy that I have been putting considerable time and effort into before i look for a bigger boat and I want to try to heave to. Mind you I don't think I'd try to ride out storm conditions in a light boat this size.

All info appreciated.
Old 10-14-2012

floridajaxsailor is on a distinguished road
yes

Of course you can~ you can heave to in any boat w sails

When I was an instructor we use to teach the method a bit~ further, I even taught backwards sailing to the fun-minded, wiser more careful students

Though, for obvious reasons, they want to keep things simple in sailing schools as it also can be dangerous in high winds or coming out of the maneuver, thus for safety reasons and with all the lawyers in this country...

I'm not sure where you took your sailing lessons

Just like anything amid dinghy sailing go out and try in a light wind!- you won't kill yourself~ well let's hope
not... just wear a life jacket after completing some thorough reading on the techniques- as there are some great resources right here on the Internet regarding sailing

good luck
~JD

Last edited by floridajaxsailor; 10-14-2012 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-14-2012

pdqaltair is on a distinguished road
Re: Dinghy Heave to question?

Heaving to can be an excellent way to capsize a small dingy on a gusty day. It is NOT a strong weather technique applicable to unbalasted boats. It works with a keel boat because they will lean but not capsize. Also, it only makes sense when sail has been reduced.