Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-06-2004

thalassolikos is on a distinguished road
knock downs

i am new to sailing, yet will be buying a cal34 to live in since i work one month on, one off(marine industry). i was wondering how hard learning to sail that would be, and how to recover from a knock down(mast in water), or will the cal right itself?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-06-2004

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
knock downs

Cal 34''s have a very large companionway and a large sail locker so if you took a real knockdown then downflooding would be more likely than on a boat built for offshore work. Still and all depending on where you will be sailing and your care with the weather, knockdowns of that nature would be pretty rare.

Jeff
Old 04-07-2004

Silmaril is on a distinguished road
knock downs

The best way to recover from a knockdown is... to avoid them in the first place!

Lessons are in order here. A 34 footer is an awfully big boat to learn on, but hey, I''ve seen worse.

By nature, in most sailboats with a fixed keel, once the mast hits the water, the wind will be out of the sails, and the boat just pops back up. Wait ''til you see the mess below! Everything not secured prior to the knockdown will be all over the place!

Then there are the cases of a boat getting knocked down in heavy seas, the "wrong" wave rolls you further over and you go turtle, not a pleasant thought. There are all sorts of formulas to predict the likelyhood of this occuring. The types of waves that you would need to do this are pretty big, large body of water stuff. I would hope you keep to protected waters until you are more proficient in your technique.