Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2013

ardsranger is on a distinguished road
Which Boat .. What to do

Hi guys
I will be moving to Jacksonville FL area soon,
I have some sailing experience. Sail a Nacra 19' and loved it and helps my friends learn to sail prindle 20 and hobbie 20's and 16's.( about 17-20 years on CATS and I also Windsurf, Never sailed a monohull and ZERO BLUE WATER TIME

Im looking for a the right first Monohull.
It will be sailed in Jacksonville area. I was planning on using it on St. Johns River mainly ( Scared of Blue water never did it) River is about 1.5 to 4 miles wide and it is VERY LONG, current is not strong.

Which boat is the question of the day

A boat that i could take family on 3 adults 1 kiddo.
Head would be nice
Prep to sail including stepping mast under 2 and half hours. Would prefer to not have to pay slip fees. I have a big truck to move a fairly heavy boat.
I would love the advice of experienced Monohull Sailors
Budget is 25k May be able to get up to 30 ( if wife loves it)

thanks so much
and
God Bless

Last edited by ardsranger; 05-07-2013 at 08:40 PM. Reason: better title
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-07-2013
Windseeker

theonecalledtom is on a distinguished road
Re: Monohull What to do

I'd be more concerned of the river with its shifty bottoms and constrained distances (1mi = 8minutes on a fast reach) than the ocean - but each to that they know right...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 05-08-2013

thanks Tom,
I am looking for a MONO HULL and have not had experience with these so looking for input.

I am working on moving to the JAX FL area.
I have done some chatting and about decided on a 28 to 30 foot and just slip the boat.
Considering A C28 c30 possible 31 at moment. There is alot of research to do.
Old 05-08-2013
Asleep at the wheel