SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Living Aboard (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/)
-   -   Marina's and Insurance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/16702-marinas-insurance.html)

pumpkinpie 05-30-2006 12:27 PM

Marina's and Insurance

Hi all,

I'm starting to look for "Live Aboard allowed" marinas and am seeing that some require insurance. Or it may be that some tell you they require insurance? I'm really new to boats in general, so marina particulars are a dense fog to me. Do all marinas require that your boat be insured? How much does boat insurance usually run? Is there a non-comprehensive insurance that just covers me running into other people like with autos? My wife and I would like to avoid having to insure the boat. Is this a bad idea?

Sorry for the flurry of questions. I'm really thankfull for all of the knowledge I've gleaned from this forum already.

Thanks,
Pumpkin

pumpkinpie 05-30-2006 12:53 PM

Oh, I forgot. I've heard bits and pieces about surveys. Do you need them to be insured? How expensive? I've heard some people have paid more for a survey than the boat was worth. Our boat was less than $5000, so I'm hoping that we're not in the same "boat".

Nathan West 05-30-2006 01:06 PM

Most, if not all, marinas require at least liability insurance-if a boat catches on fire and spreads to the dock and surrounding boats someone needs to pay, especialy if you are one of the surrounding boats. Simple liability insurance is not too expense, couple hundred a year and usauly dose not require a survey or at worst an in water survey. Check with Boat US or West Marine

LaLeLu 05-30-2006 01:18 PM

Depends where you are.