Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2006

pumpkinpie is on a distinguished road
Marina's and Insurance

Hi all,

I'm starting to look for "Live Aboard allowed" marinas and am seeing that some require insurance. Or it may be that some tell you they require insurance? I'm really new to boats in general, so marina particulars are a dense fog to me. Do all marinas require that your boat be insured? How much does boat insurance usually run? Is there a non-comprehensive insurance that just covers me running into other people like with autos? My wife and I would like to avoid having to insure the boat. Is this a bad idea?

Sorry for the flurry of questions. I'm really thankfull for all of the knowledge I've gleaned from this forum already.

Thanks,
Pumpkin
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-30-2006

Oh, I forgot. I've heard bits and pieces about surveys. Do you need them to be insured? How expensive? I've heard some people have paid more for a survey than the boat was worth. Our boat was less than $5000, so I'm hoping that we're not in the same "boat".
Old 05-30-2006

Nathan West is on a distinguished road
Most, if not all, marinas require at least liability insurance-if a boat catches on fire and spreads to the dock and surrounding boats someone needs to pay, especialy if you are one of the surrounding boats. Simple liability insurance is not too expense, couple hundred a year and usauly dose not require a survey or at worst an in water survey. Check with Boat US or West Marine
Old 05-30-2006

LaLeLu is on a distinguished road
Depends where you are.