Lake Michigan Liveaboard? - SailNet Community
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Tbone
  • 1 Post By Siamese
  • 1 Post By Sal Paradise

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 05-05-2015 Thread Starter

Lake Michigan Liveaboard?

I'm over the house and yard, with lots of stuff thing. I'm 45 years old and worked 25 years as a paramedic and I have decided to chase my dreams rather than just sit and wish. One of those dreams is to live on a sailboat. I have minimal sailing experience but would take lessons. I have good mechanical skills and I'm an aircraft mechanic so I should be able to handle basic boat maintenance. I'm beginning a new career as an airline pilot and will most likely be based in Chicago.

So here is the questions: Are there any liveaboard friendly marinas on Lake Michigan, and what boat would you recommend?

My biggest concerns are how to handle sewage and the inevitable winter months.

Any advice is appreciated.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 06-15-2015

Re: Lake Michigan Liveaboard?

Before buying a boat, pay close attention to the design. Bigger isn't always more comfortable. The shape of the hull, amount of ballast, the draft, and the keel will play critical roles in how comfortable the boat is when swinging around on the hook or at the dock when the wind picks up or when a boat comes in and creates wake. A round bottom will roll a lot more than a deep, double curved hull.

Some people will tell you that living on a boat smaller than 30 ft just isn't comfortable. They've either been living on the wrong boats, or they feel like they need more than they actually do. Or they're living with a wife or girlfriend, and possibly kids, in which case, they have a valid point. Anyways, a small boat has many advantages. The cost of maintenance and repairs grows exponentially when you increase the size of the boat drastically.