SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Living Aboard (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/)
-   -   Free at Last Step 1 (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/35655-free-last-step-1-a.html)

wkokal 08-02-2007 07:05 PM

Free at Last Step 1

Hi all
New to the forum & just wanted to introduce myself.
I am new to sailing - Our last Kid just left the house :D
So with retirement within sight - I completely freaked my husband out and said - Babe - lets sell everything and get us a big ole sailboat and takeoff!! :eek:
After he picked himself up off the floor - he was like I'm in...

Now before you all heave that collective sigh going "oh no green horns on the sea - get the name of their boat they'll be on storm stories for sure .."
Fear not my husband grew up sailing the Great Lakes & is currently restoring a Santana 30 - we are having the Can't take it with you Garage Sale this weekend and then moving next weekend to a place that the rent is about the same as it was when we got married 20 something years ago. The rest of the cash is going in the boat fund - while we wait out actual retirement date.

Just wanted to say Hi - get connected as I'm sure I will have tons of questions upcoming.....

Glad to be here
Feedin that Gypsy Spirit or is that Pirate Spirit Hmmmm:cool:
Whitney

Giulietta 08-02-2007 07:17 PM

Welcome...

It is Sailnet's tradition to post one's phot upon arrival....

We are mostly sad men and women, with no hope and friends.

We hang around here, waiting for death to catch up with us.

My name is Manoel De la Hoja, I am from Guatemala, and my best friend is a French person named Camaraderie da Silva.

I also like Papa Cruzeiro, a nice man from Brasil, that posts here as El Cruisingdad.

There is a guy that thinks he knows everything, but he is ok, he sails a miniature boat with 3 hulls because he is affraid of heeling.