Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-05-2007

HoffaLives is on a distinguished road
I think I've been snookered

'Cause I bought the myth of simple life aboard. I'm seriously thinking of selling my beloved CS 36T, which I've owned a paltry three months.
So here's the sob story. I'm a writer, and the more junk/trouble/money problems in my life, the less art/love/time for what's really important. So after fulfilling my biological imperative, we pushed the kids out, sold the whopper of a headache house, and paid off four-fifths of debts. Compared to the rest of 99% of our compatriots we are well off, living downtown with a lovely waterfront view with minimal expenses.

I thought I had found my dream.

And then that damn rope slipped off the bow. Nothing stupid like running onto rocks or blowing up the engine or anything like that, just a poorly flaked length of rope slithering off unnoticed in a chop.

After all the dust clears, even with insurance, it looks like we could have as much as 4 grand worth of stuff we will have to pay for, as we found previous crummy repairs that need to be set right. The insured portion could be in the range of 10 grand.

Just a f***** rope.

We have to come up with the ten grand, and then submit receipts to the insurance company. Could take a few weeks to a month to see a cheque.

So at this point we have to provide 15 thousand dollars to take care of a prop wrap. If I had run her aground (like the other CS 36T in the yard) what would I have to come up with then? $40,000.00? $50,000.00?

And I haven't even begun on the part of where the hell do you live while your home is pulled apart for 6 weeks?.