Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2008

dodgeboatguy is on a distinguished road
houston liveaboard

Ok I posted on here a few month ago trying to figure out where to live, at that time I had a girlfriend that was an finishing school to be an R.N. and I am an industrial mechanic/electrician and the consensus seemed to be that the best place to live aboard and work for us was on the Chesapeake bay well now I am single. I guess I loved my boat more than her go figure. Houston has a ton of jobs in my field (live in saint Louis MO now yuck) I have looked at a lot of the marinas and called a few and there seems to be a lot that allow live boards but most have a min 30’ well as a single guy on a budget a production 28’ Catalina or hunter would be just fine for sailing and living for me so I guess the question is do most of these places really care if the boat is a 28’ or a 30’ or do they just want the money for the thirty foot slip? Also to foot of bow sprit would not be too hard to cobble on or maybe a davits do these count? I know the best way to find out is just call the marina but I have found the sometimes it is easer to ask forgiveness than permission.

Thanks all.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-24-2008
I can't reMember

Slipkiller2 is on a distinguished road
I live near Houston but am in St Louis tonight. Brrrr it’s too cold for me. Low 9 tonight. I’m heading back to warmer weather tomorrow and go sailing this weekend.

Most marinas are going to charge by the length of the slip and not the boat. Lots of marinas in the Clear Lake area. You can find some at http://marinas.com/browse/marina/US/TX/ Current costs run about $7-9 per foot.

If you’re looking to move to the area, check out http://www.boatingguidetoamerica.com...erica:State_TX