SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Living Aboard (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/)
-   -   center cockpits (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/4215-center-cockpits.html)

jiffy feet 05-28-2002 08:53 PM

center cockpits

Hi all,

I am looking for a center cockpit boat as a liveaboard. Can anyone point this total newbie to some boats I could search for? The only 2 I know are the Hunter 420 ($$$) and the Tayana 42 ($$$). I need to know what companies make these boats in order to search for a used one.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Jeff_H 05-29-2002 06:27 AM

center cockpits

My Dad bought a Brewer 12.8 cutter some years ago and that has proven to be a super cruiser and live aboard. There are quite a few available on SailNet BoatSearch in a wide price range (including Dad''s). His is the keel centerboard version which is a really nice set up. It allows very shallow draft for a boat this size and yet affords excellent upwind and offwind performance. The CB is also nice since you can use it to precisely balance the boat. The Brewer 12.8''s offer a better build quality than the other two that you mention as well.

Another favorite of mine in this general category if the Kelly Peterson 44''s. They offer a nice layout and good performance for a good liveaboard and offshore cruiser.

Morgan 43''s seem to be pretty readily available and seem to be nice boats for the money.

If you are looking for a lot of room cheaply, and performance and build quality is less important then I would suggest that you look at the Morgan Out Island 41. These boats apparently vary pretty widely in build quality from some pretty junky versions that I worked on to some higher quality versions owned by some participants in discussions on these boats. Still and all they represent one of the great bargains in cheap spacious live aboards.

Gotta Go,
Jeff

sailor582002 05-29-2002 08:28 AM

center cockpits