Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2003

reid5009 is on a distinguished road
Liveaboard: state of mind

I look to this message board everyday in hopes of learning something new. I am just a college student, but I have been long planning and dreaming of living aboard in a few years. Just to get some lively conversation here this is for everyone: What is your favorite live aboard story?
Don''t have the boat yet, then what are your dreams about living aboard? What is something interesting about yourself that screams "Parrothead" or "boatie"? Mine: Well I believe living aboard is a state of mind, you either love it or hate it. As I am not right on the coast for now, I subscribe to six different boating magazines to get my boat "fix," two of which are "Living Aboard" and "Lats and Atts."
I''ve enjoyed talking to everyone and hope to hear some great things.
-Reid
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-13-2003

ABullard is on a distinguished road

Hi Reid,

I agree with you that living aboard is a state of mind. It is one of living in some ways more simply, yet in some ways more complicated. On the simplicity side, you have to break away from the "accumulation of stuff" disease that is so rampant in today''s world. Yet on the other side you have to become more engaged in those things that make living aboard practical and safe. So you have to learn weather patterns and boat systems, etc.

My wife and I just achieved the goal of living aboard three weeks ago. Twelve years ago we sat down and mapped out a plan to get to this point and posted it on the refrigerator. We didn''t look at the plan often, but it was always there sub-consciously. Surprisingly we are only 18 months off that original plan. (Teenage kids will screw up any plan)