Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2010

Yudhishthira is on a distinguished road
Any Cleveland Area Liveaboards?

Hi everybody-

First off I am a total newbie, so please forgive and gently correct any errors I make. I have been browsing the forums for a few weeks now and have found them to be a terrific resource full of great information and generally good humored people.

Now to my question: I am wondering if there are any liveaboards near the Cleveland/Lake Erie area that might be willing to invite me and my dad over. We will gladly bring you some beer or wine and some home baked cookies in exchange for answering some basic questions. I am looking into living aboard (sailboat) and have done plenty of research on the net, but have yet to talk in person with someone who lives on their boat or even step on one. I am looking to liveaboard in the New York area, but my folks live here in Cleveland and I am visiting them for a little while. I know my dad has just as many questions as I do. If anyone is around to help out please let me know. Thanks again to everyone for all their informative posts.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-04-2010

Loaf1967 is on a distinguished road
Yud,
I am from Akron and liveaboard a Catalina 30 in Annapolis MD. I took a job in DC and the rents were just outrageous! My monthly rent for a crappy 1 bdrm 20 miles from DC was more than the monthly payment on our 15 year mortgage for our house in Akron!
Pick up a copy of "The Essential of Living Aboard a Sailboat" by Mark Nicholas. It was very helpful to me as I was doing my research. Also, try walking the docks where you want to live and striking up conversations with liveaboards. They always seemed eager to share their experiences with me when I started.

Loaf