Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2010
Morgan 33 O.I. Perryville

travlineasy will become famous soon enough
Smile Movin' on up...

Two weeks ago, I took possession of a Morgan 33 Out Island. This is a big step up from the 27 Catalina I currently own. The 33 is very comfortable, built for ocean cruising, has every imaginable commodity onboard and quite spacious. Yes, I know it's a slow boat, but if I wanted to go fast I would have stuck with power boats.

My plan is to partially retire in 2012. I'll be 72 years old and hopefully, still in relatively good health. If my health doesn't deteriorate, I figure on setting up a light work schedule in Maryland from May through early October, which is essentially most of the summer months. I'm a musician/entertainer by trade, and when I'm not performing, I write magazine articles for local boating and outdoor magazines.

In early October of 2012, the music gear and provisions will be loaded aboard the boat, the sails raised, the a leisurely trip will be made down the ICW, or the Atlantic Coast if the weather allows, to Marathon Key, Florida, where I hope to be playing the dockside Tiki bars during the height of their tourist season, which is November through April.

Naturally, I have planned several side trips to the Dry Tortugas, Bahama Islands, BVI and a few other locations. Might even sail Cozumel for a couple days of fun in the sun and the world's best snorkeling, but I'm hearing rumors that safety is somewhat of an issue there at this time.