Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Cruising & Liveaboard Forum > Living Aboard
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2011

Wolff is on a distinguished road
Trying to jumpstart my research on picking a boat! :)

Hello, newbie here to sailing and what not but I've been doing some lurking and thought I would register to kind of jumpstart things with a few questions. I've got some of the basic info down and thought I'd form my questions around that.

So what I'm looking for is something I can live aboard, that's at least semi-minimalist perhaps in the 30-36' range, monohull, capable of sailing in calm waters but also taking longer trips say across the atlantic and pacific. My price range isn't that great but I've been looking at boats in the 5-15k range that are used. The kind of used boat that is in good sailing shape, but that I can fix it up to learn more about it as well, you know? Ideally it would be very self sustainable so I don't have to dock in a marina often, I'd rather stay off shore as much as I can to cut down on costs. I'm looking to live on roughly 1000-1500 a month and go on extended trips spending around 700 a month when not in my home city. This is based on a 12 month average since my goal is to sail around the world at some point. I'm planning to purchase this within a 6 months to a year and a half after saving.

Now I know what I'm looking for, I'm just not sure what kind of vessels would have all that kind of thing. I've been looking at some Norstars, catalinas, and hunters but I'm still really not sure on everything so I thought I'd turn to those more knowledgeable than myself. Hopefully I gave enough information.