SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Living Aboard (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/)
-   -   Living the dream in Norfolk, VA (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/77069-living-dream-norfolk-va.html)

Jorge_Cast 08-01-2011 04:31 PM

Living the dream in Norfolk, VA

Hi everyone!

I have been checking this forum for months and have dreamed of living aboard a sailboat since I can remember. After graduating college, I have found a full time job and am ready to follow through with my dream. However, as a newbie, I do have some questions:

Just having started a full-time job I don't have much in savings. I have a pretty good credit score and have family that is eager to help me achieve my dream. Do you have any recommendations regarding where I should start looking for sailboats (specific marinas, private dealers, etc.)? Also, any info on getting qualified for financing would be fantastic.

I really love this forum and have spent a lot of time day dreaming because of all the great information on this site. Can't wait to be part of the community! Thanks

rockDAWG 08-01-2011 05:46 PM

Congrats, now it is time to build your career. In the meantime, nothing wrong to work toward your dream

1. Use Yachtworld.com to do your initial search, read anything that is in you price range and above.
2. IF you are handy, it is a plus since those unloved boats are plenty around in the boat yards.
3. low balling is a bad word, but use it anyway. It is a buyer market. Walk away if you don't get what you want to pay.
4. Google is your friend.
5. Hang out the marina or sailing club. You don't need to own a boat to learn how to sail.
6. Be humble and work hard. No one dies due to hard work.
7. Report back with other questions.

Good luck.

Jorge_Cast 08-02-2011 01:33 PM