SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Living Aboard (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/)
-   -   Considering doing Live Aboard. (Need Advise) (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/living-aboard/92506-considering-doing-live-aboard-need-advise.html)

MikeB1917 09-27-2012 08:47 PM

Considering doing Live Aboard. (Need Advise)

I have no sailing experience, but I have worked on a fishing boat a few times and can operate a all motor boat, I have been looking at a 25' Bayliner in decent condition, needs a little work but nothing serious. Some sanding here, some fine touch there just picky work. I have no furniture and am pretty much in the 'backpack' state of my life. I am working for the family business of boat refurbish and repair so I have a increasing skill set and can learn if I dont know something. My question is if a bayliner is a good option to go with on a live aboard since I have no exp in sailing and to be honest dont really want to go there just yet. I wouldn't be doing much travel, as much as I would just anchor it out and dingy in to work and back. Just looking for thoughts advise and knowledge. Thanks in advance.

PeterSailer 09-27-2012 09:13 PM

Re: Considering doing Live Aboard. (Need Advise)

You should probably get your self a sailboat with standing head room, this makes living aboard much easier.

Pierre

tdw 09-27-2012 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MikeB1917 (Post 927390)
snippy I have no furniture and am pretty much in the 'backpack' state of my life. snippy

Gee you would want to be. I tried to live on a (small) 28'er way back when and it beat me. To do it in a 25'er and on a mooring ... hard ask.

I'm making a clear distinction here between 'liveaboard' and 'full time cruising'.

Cruiser2B 09-27-2012 11:08 PM