Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > MacGregor
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2013
1974 Venture 17

jwir3 is on a distinguished road
Venture 17 Restoration Project for Beginners

Hi There -

I'm fairly new to boat ownership and restoration. My wife and I purchased a Venture 17 from a local dealer, and we love the little boat. It's sailable, but ideally we'd like to do a bit of work to it. Bit by bit I'd like to restore it much like a couple of the other threads on this board have done. I'm starting with the easy stuff, since I don't have much experience (none would be a better clarification) - i.e. the teak components on the deck that can be easily removed.

I was wondering if others have a bit of advice. I've been reading through this thread - Venture 17 Restoration

Joevacs, it looks like you have a really sharp looking boat now!

Mainly, there are a few things that I'm concerned that I don't have enough experience to do - like taking the deck fully off and separating the components of the boat so I can restore the inner cabin. Right now, it looks like the side berths inside the cabin need a lot of work - they appear to be just plywood sheets, but they are connected to the inner hull somehow, so I wonder if it's necessary to take the deck completely off in order to get at these areas. (Also, we'd like to separate the hull so it can be removed and repainted).