Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Morgan
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2009

FreidaB is on a distinguished road
Calling Morgan Keel Experts

I have read a few different terms for Morgan keels, could someone clarify?
1) Centerboard(retractable) I assume it is as it sounds, I think our '38 West Indies has this.
2) Ballast Keel?
3) And another, I forget the term, but it sounds like some kind of counter weighted keel for windward?(Swing keel?)
Could someone explain the functions and correct any terminology errors?
Thanks for any responses,
I'm new at this!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-20-2009
Retired and happy

Leither is on a distinguished road
I am no Morgan Keel expert. However, I do own a Morgan 30 (1971) which has a centerboard. The actual keel in this case is the heavy part below water which keeps the boat upright. My boat has a lead keel which is built in to the finreglass hull. The centerboard is essentially a flat chunk of metal which swings down from a slot in the main keel. It does not contribute much to keeping the boat upright, but gives it more "grip" in the water and so prevents it from drifting to leeward and allows it to "point up" better into the wind when sailing.

The terms "swing keel" and "centerboard" are often used to mean the same thing, though in my mind a swing keel would be the only keel on the boat and would be much larger and heavier than a centerboard.

Stuart

I must go down to the sea again, to the lonely sea and the sky - I left my shoes and socks there, I wonder if they're dry?
Old 06-05-2010

Nikko is on a distinguished road
Hi FriedaB

Saw your post about the Morgan Heritage 38 with swing keel.

What have been your experiences with this boat and how did the swing keel work for you?

Was it much hassle with maintenance?

thanks

Nikko
Old 07-11-2010

SlamSuzanne is on a distinguished road
Terms