SailNet Community - Reply to Topic
Thread: Rule 10 and rule 18? Reply to Thread
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

Click here to view the posting rules you are bound to when clicking the
'Submit Reply' button below

  Topic Review (Newest First)
08-28-2012 01:44 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Boat B should have used its starboard tack status to its advantage earlier (before the zone) or jibed and used its leeward status to its advantage earlier. Once in the zone, the inside boat gets mark room:

18.1 When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18 applies between boats when they are required to leave a mark on the same side and at least one of them is in the zone. However, it does not apply
(a) between boats on opposite tacks on a beat to windward,
(b) between boats on opposite tacks when the proper course at the mark for one but not both of them is to tack,
(c) between a boat approaching a mark and one leaving it, or
(d) if the mark is a continuing obstruction, in which case rule 19 applies.
18.2 Giving Mark-Room
(a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.
(b) If boats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.
(c) When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), she shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a new overlap begins. However, if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply.
(d) If there is reasonable doubt that a boat obtained or broke an overlap in time, it shall be presumed that she did not.
(e) If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear astern and, from the time the overlap began, the outside boat has been unable to give mark-room, she is not required to give it.
08-24-2012 10:10 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Sometimes sailing by the lee is faster than ddw. It can create flow over the sail, which is better than having the air simply stall out and create turbulence when it hits a flat surface perpendicular to its direction. Catboats, with their big mains providing all the power, frequently end up sailing by the lee on purpose because of this, when the course is ddw. It's a little like sprit boats going 'way off on a reach instead of ddw, because it's faster for them to do it that way.
08-24-2012 05:37 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

ah, my mistake. I saw cat and assumed there were 2 hulls. oops.

I have volunteered as RC, but what does that have to do with boats not sailing their polars?
08-23-2012 11:02 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Originally Posted by zz4gta View Post
More importantly, why are cats sailing DDW anyway? Or even close to it? That can't be fast at all.
I'm sure that if you want to volunteer for the Race Committee, they'll be happy to let you run the next race. Remember these are Catboats, not Catamarans.
08-23-2012 04:09 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

More importantly, why are cats sailing DDW anyway? Or even close to it? That can't be fast at all.
08-23-2012 04:08 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

C gets room, A gets room, B gets pinwheeled on the outside and screwed on the next upwind leg. (you get room ONLY if there's overlap at the 3 boat circle).

B has broken rule 18 and 14.
08-23-2012 01:13 AM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Thanks PaulK for your erudite rounding up of the rules.
Is it any wonder that so many allow their eyes to glaze over once they have heard about rules 10 & 18?
I should have done at least 1 360 degree turn tonight in our race. I'll see how it goes.
08-22-2012 10:41 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Boat A - the inside boat which had an overlap at entering the 3-boatlength zone IS entitled to room at the mark, regardless of their being on port tack. Even though they're on starboard, Boat B, the outside boat, is required by rule 18 to provide sufficient room for A to round the mark in a seamanlike manner under the prevailing conditions. (I think this wording comes from an appeal I read somewhere. Boat A might need more room in 15' seas than in smooth water, for example.) As stated in Section A of the rules, some rules in sections B, C, and D limit the actions of a right-of-way boat. This is one of those situations: rule 18 is in section B. Note how rule 18 applies going downwind, but does NOT apply going upwind. You can't sneak in on Port tack at the windward mark and call for room. In this situation they're not beating. Boat B, broke rule 18 by not providing room, and also rule 14 by hitting boat A. They should have done a bunch of penalty turns (four, perhaps?) before continuing their race, or should have withdrawn.
08-22-2012 02:46 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

Neither am I an expert, but it seems to me that Boat B broke rule 18 and rule 14.
08-22-2012 02:38 PM
Re: Rule 10 and rule 18?

I think Caleb is right. Overlap established, A must be given room. If A tried to force B away from the mark then I think B would have an argument but if B is pressing the issue, then I think the overlap rule would prevail.
This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome