|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|04-20-2007 09:03 PM|
Originally Posted by Giulietta
|04-20-2007 07:37 PM|
Originally Posted by Sabre66
Don't confuse him...he will now be back on Sailnet reading about right of way and racing tactics
Kac, he could actually "skeeze" you into the wind, you would loose boat speed, and all he had to do next is veer off and doing so accelerate and leave you behind....
If you're into it, get a book on racing rules and regulations (get one of the American guys here to recommend a good one)...sometimes the slower boat can get advantage of the rules and beat the faster...its all like a chess game.
ACC is won and lost on just that....see if you can see a computer animation of an ACC race...you'll understand what we mean
|04-20-2007 06:28 PM|
Originally Posted by Kacper
|04-20-2007 01:00 PM|
Originally Posted by christyleigh
Now....you can aim at me...but you have to catch me first!!!
A very skinny medium heigt guy is sitting at a bar...a big heavy set guy sits next to him, shows his arm bicep and gives the small guy a business card:
It reads: John Strong..heavy weight World wrestling Champion....
The small skinny guy looks at him and gives him his Business card:
It reads: Jack Lightfoot, 100 meter hurdle World Champion
|04-20-2007 11:44 AM|
Better borrow Valiente's steel beastie... it'll do more damage and pay less for the privilege...but you'll have to catch him at anchor, or you'll never get close enough...
|04-20-2007 11:39 AM|
Originally Posted by camaraderie
|04-20-2007 11:26 AM|
But if you pass to leeward, do it many boatlengths to leeward, or you could get blanketed and stuck there.
And you can pass to windward, if you're far enough off that you don't cast much of a blanket that far to leeward. 6-7 boatlengths' lateral distance should be enough clearance.
|04-20-2007 11:07 AM|
He's just a very aggressive racer... tactics wise...
|04-20-2007 10:57 AM|
I am happy to report that yesterday while singlehandling a catalina capri 22', I ran into another identical boat.
We decided to race and, I won!
After disabling the other boat did you really expect to lose?? (G)
|04-20-2007 10:34 AM|
Originally Posted by sailingdog
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|