|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|04-16-2009 11:45 PM|
Redstripe, if you don't CHECK WITH THE STATES you are going to wind up paying a lot of money or losing your boat to a tax seizure. Simple enough?
The laws are different in eveyr state. In some states you can keep the boat "in the state" while in others it is "in the navigable waters of the state" for a period of "ninety consecutive days" or "30 days" or "no more than 185 days" in one year, and then it has to be registered AS A MOTOR VEHICLE or AS A BOAT or EXEMPTED AS AN ANTIQUE or NOT REGISTERED IF THERES NO ENGINE.
Every one of those variations applies in different states and that's just the beginning. Either visit the state web sites or call their boating authorities and find out the laws. "Some guy on the internet told me" isn't going to scare the tax men away or get you forgiven for not paying their tithe.
|04-16-2009 09:05 PM|
I have a plastic panel that's big enough to hold the numbers and the registration sticker. I "tastefully" wire tied it to my bow pulpit.
I bought the plates at West Marine; they're designed for inflatables-looks like this:
|04-16-2009 08:27 PM|
|k1vsk||Although you will probably receive the correct answer here (regarding state requirements), why not simply ask the appropriate state or read it on their web site? At least you have a better chance of not getting a guess for an answer. I'm not familiar with Ma statute, however, most states, if not all, which require tax could care less if you have the boat documented- they want their money regardless. Again, check with them - an internet chat forum isn't the best basis by which you can ensure compliance.|
|04-16-2009 08:15 PM|
Yes, the guy at the bow is very ugly, and his mother dresses him funny.
Oh, wait...is that you?? Damn, did I actually type that...
Originally Posted by sailortjk1 View Post
Originally Posted by redstripesailor View Post
|04-16-2009 07:36 PM|
|redstripesailor||If I document it with the Coast Guard do I still have to pay tax in MA just for having her there?|
|04-16-2009 07:32 PM|
I don't really pay much attention, just another requirement unless you go ducumented.
Do you consider these ugly?
I don't. (Best pic I could find right now.)
|04-16-2009 07:10 PM|
Apparently, in New Jersey, you need the ugly numbers too... But in NC and Mass... no state reg numbers.
Originally Posted by AE28 View Post
IIRC, if you keep the boat the boat in Mass for the summer, you'll have to pay sales tax and excise tax on it, if it is here for over 90 days.
|04-16-2009 06:15 PM|
I can't find a photo, but not all Registration Numbers are ugly (my opinion).
There are size and color requirements that you have to adhere to and they must be easily readable from a distance. You can have them made by a vinyl graphics dealer and they are not that expensive.
|04-16-2009 06:06 PM|
|redstripesailor||Thanks guys. It looks like I'm going to have to register or document her. So much for the no engine card.... It appears as though documenting with the USCG is the way to go because I don't need no stinkin' letters!|
|04-16-2009 06:02 PM|
Red, Try this!
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|