|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|02-11-2011 02:49 PM|
|jgeissinger||Calif smog laws pertain to outboards only insofar as what is available for purchase new. You don't have to register the outboard itself at all, and nobody checks to see what you have on the boat at any given time. I have a garage full of 2 stroke outboards that I really like and use regularly. You may not be able to buy a new small 2 stroke, but there are a lot of used ones out there. And the "outboard police" are not going to check on your motor.|
|02-11-2011 11:38 AM|
Thanks All! Right on the money. Your input got me on the correct research path.
I finally got a response from the SGT.of harbor police in San Diego. Experience in the past has taught me that you can go by the book but when you are out on the water or road it still comes down to the golden rule: He who has the gun makes the rules. Here is the reply word for word I received.
"Any motorized vessel will need to be registered. You can mark it as T/T the main vessel, but that will mean it can only be used for the business of/in conjunction with that vessel. It is easier to jest register it though the California DMV. I would contact them directly."
So I went to DMV, downloaded paperwork and will get it registered, that is as soon as I find out if I can! It now appears that in CA. the smog laws have found their way to outboard motors. Maybe I will put a quick release on the motor and if anyone comes near me I'll ditch the motor and grab the oars! Come back later with a diver (certified of course) and recover my motor. All sounds pretty simple .
|02-10-2011 04:40 PM|
|jgeissinger||There is an initial use (sales) tax paid when first registering a boat in California. After that it is a whole $20 every two years to renew the registration, whether it is a $2 boat or a $200K boat. Local counties have various personal property taxes on boats, but not the state DMV.|
|02-10-2011 04:04 PM|
Originally Posted by LinekinBayCD View Post
|02-10-2011 04:01 PM|
|LinekinBayCD||Does Calif or SD have an annual excise tax on boats? Some state like Maine do and you need to pay not just a sales tax but the annual excise tax also. Since the dinghy was a throw in with the mothership, if CA doesn't have an annual excise tax I try to get it registered in CA without paying any sales tax when registering it given that in effect it's value was incorporated in to value of the mothership when registered.|
|02-10-2011 03:14 PM|
|02-10-2011 03:06 PM|
the requirement for not registering tenders used solely to and from main vessel is state for WA and covers all vessels documented or not however the USCG says tenders are not covered under documentation
USCG National Vessel Documentation Center, FAQ Page
Documentation of your vessel does not cover the vessel's tender or dinghy. These craft fall within the jurisdiction of the motorboat numbering laws of the state of principal use. Please contact your state agency that handles the registration or numbering of motorboats for further information
|02-10-2011 02:58 PM|
|02-10-2011 02:44 PM|
Originally Posted by sailingdog View Post
|02-10-2011 02:33 PM|
Believe the dinghy has a motor, otherwise the OP's comment about gas doesn't make any sense.
|This thread has more than 10 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.|