SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Danish Islands, Baltic

4K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  PCP 
#1 ·
Hi -

Just noticed there are no posts regarding northern Europe here at all. So I thought I might add one.
I'm a novice sailor, but I was out for the first time in the Baltic a few weeks ago, for a week cruising around the Danish Islands in the Baltic.
What a great time! Sailing is almost always fun, but there were a few things about the area I liked particularly.
First off, it's really beautiful, with lots of little islands and channels, as well as the open sea of the baltic. The area is anything but urban, with picturesque farmhouses and old fishing villages all over the place. The wind in the baltic tends to be good, we never had less than Bft 5, and we went up to 8, which some of the more expirienced sailors on board claimed was not so good, but it made for fast, fun sailing and I had the feeling I was doing something exciting. So I liked it quite a bit. These conditions are not all that unusual there apparantly - which contrasts to near-zero wind in parts of the med where most of my friends sail.
In addition - you can't throw a brick without hitting a harbor of some sort around there. One of the crew claimed, (and she would know) that the area has one of the highest densities of harbors anywhere in Europe...and I can believe it. This was nice, as many are small, cute little things, but there was always room, and above all, cheap! We were sailing a Bavaria 37, and we spent only about 100 Euros for the whole week in harbor fees. All of them were quiet, most were within about 100 yards of their respective town or city centers. There was always something to do, or somewhere to go.