SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   O'Day (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/oday/)
-   -   O'Day Sprite (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/oday/17198-oday-sprite.html)

needtolearn 06-13-2006 12:09 PM

O'Day Sprite

We have an O'Day Sprite and its time to teach our children how to sail. I can't find any information on the Sprite, nor can I find the sails. Can anyone help direct me... The boat hasn't been used in years, but was once a great friend to my husband and we are hoping will have the same meaning to our son. We look forward to many summers on the lake, and hope someone can help make that possible.

tpm622 06-13-2006 01:40 PM

I have a Sprite also, the sails that came with it were fairly new and made by Doyle Sails. Jeff H was a great help on here with mine and sent a sketch that he did detailing the rigging, I'd be glad to email you

needtolearn 06-13-2006 02:31 PM

that would be great - thank you. I'm new to this, my e-mail is
ksgentle1@verizon.net. Can you tell me where Doyle Sails is located? Thanks again for the help :o)

kiranders 06-16-2006 03:20 PM

sail info

Hi,

We have been trying to find this same info. don't know if one of you could email it to me?
kiranders@hotmail.com

Thanks!

SuperSprite 07-13-2006 01:15 PM

I purchased a Sprite to use as a rowing dinghy, the hull is in good shape and I would like to add a sail to teach my kids with.

I would appreciate anything you can send regarding the rig dimensions -
Mast / boom length, diameter wall thickness
Sail luff and foot lengths
Shroud diameters

tfennell1@msn.com

Thanks

merc2dogs 07-21-2006 07:52 PM

sprite info

Been looking myself for info opn the boat, the best source I have found is baker boat works, who sells the plans for the sprite,

www.by-the-sea.com/bakerboatworks/

it's listed as the spirit, download the PDF and it explains that it was designed for O'day, and 3500 were built.